

From the Honorary Secretary: Fenny Smith 24 Sandringham Close Ross-on-Wye Herefordshire HR9 7XN secretary@bshm.ac.uk

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the BSHM held at the Department of Computer Science, University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL on Saturday 7th December 2019

The meeting opened at 12.30 pm with the President, Mark McCartney, in the Chair. There were 21 members of the Society present.

1. <u>Apologies for absence</u>

The following apologies were received: Richard Simpson, Jenny Ramsden, Graham Hoare, David Kaye, Mike Bramwell, Paul Thornley, Ciarán Mac an Bhaird.

Before proceeding, the President had the poignant task of announcing the names of those members who had sadly died in the last year. Members stood in respect for:

UK

Mr Peter Griffiths, London Mr Tony Howard Sale, Cheshire Mrs Barbara Lee, Llanrwst, North Wales Prof Alex Craik, St Andrews Mr Derek Stander, Plymouth Dr Muriel Seltman, Falconwood Overseas Prof Michel Serfati, Paris, France Mr Bruce Mcneill, Christchurch, New Zealand Dr Sylvia Svitak, New York City, USA Mr David Zitarelli, Minneapolis, USA

2. <u>Minutes of the AGM held on Wednesday 25th October 2018</u>

a) Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved.

b) Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

3. Officers' Reports and Accounts

These refer to the timeframe Jan 1st to Dec 31st 2018 and are collated under the BSHM Company Annual Report, filed with Companies House.

a) The Officers outlined their reports as in the above document. There were no questions on the report, and it was accepted **nem. con.**

- i. Membership numbers remained fairly constant at about 310. Over the year, overseas numbers were slightly up, and home numbers slightly down.
- We were in good financial health. £50K have been invested in fixed rate bonds, on a rolling basis, and the outlook for 2019 was for a balance on a small profit. A 10% reduction was available on paying subscriptions by DD, and this was encouraged. The income of the Bulletin (soon to become a Journal) was slightly greater than the expenses. KS reassured RJW that the budget would allow for BSHM's 50 year anniversary celebrations in 2021.
- iii. The President gave an overview of past and planned events and awards, showing that the Society was in a healthy state. He thanked all meeting organisers for all their work; BW for his work in converting the Bulletin to a fully-fledged and peer reviewed journal, the BJHM, due to come out in January; made grateful tribute to CH who was stepping down after three years on Council; and lastly thanked all Council members for all their work over the year. In response to a question from the membership, it was ascertained that the Hirst Prize would be awarded by the LMS in 2021, and by the BSHM in 2023.

4. <u>Election of Council for 2020</u>

The names of the nominated Council for 2020 together with their biographies had been circulated to all members. No BSHM member had subsequently asked for anyone else to be nominated. They were as follows:

- President Vice President Treasurer Secretary Membership Secretary New Members' Secretary Communications Officer Meetings Coordinator Education Officer Publicity and Webmaster Elected (ordinary) member of Council Co-opted JMC Representative Journal Editor
- Mark McCartney Sarah Hart Klaas Sijbrandij Fenny Smith Ken Lord Dorothy Leddy Dorothy Leddy Isobel Falconer Snezana Lawrence Troy Astarte Robin Wilson June Barrow-Green Benjamin Wardhaugh

Note 1) Benjamin Wardhaugh was appointed as Journal Editor but not a permanent member of Council.

The British Society for the History of Mathematics is registered as a company limited by guarantee no. 3326816 and as a charity no. 1061229. Registered Office: c/o Andrew Thorburn & Co, 38 Tamworth Road, Croydon, Surrey CR0 1XU,UK The motion that the **nominated Council be adopted** was proposed by Terry Froggatt and seconded by Leo Rogers. The motion was passed *nem. con*.

5. <u>Appointment of Andrew Thurburn & Co., 38 Tamworth Road, Croydon, as the</u> <u>Society's accountants and independent examiner</u>

The motion that **Andrew Thurburn & Co be re-appointed as the Society's accountants and independent examiner** was proposed by Sarah Hart and seconded by Philip Beeley. The motion was passed with the one conventional abstention of the Treasurer.

6. <u>Any other business</u>

There was none

7. The meeting closed at 12.50 pm.

Fenny Smith, Hon. Secretary 27/10/2020