

From the Honorary Secretary:

Dr Fenny Smith
24 Sandringham Close
Ross-on-Wye
HR9 7XN

e-mail: secretary@bshm.ac.uk

Agenda for the Annual General Meeting of the BSHM to be held online on Saturday 9th December 2023 at 12.30

1. Apologies for absence and respect to deceased members Present 25

Michael McManus of Mold North Wales

Mr Derek Goldrei of Oxford

Prof David Singmaster of London.

Dr Roger Webster of Sheffield

Mr David Williams of Seaford

Prof Jim Bennett of Oxford

Eduardo Ortiz

Richard Simpson former Council Secretary

- 2. Minutes of the AGM held on Zoom Saturday 2nd December 2022
 - a. Approval of Minutes BS pro, DK 2nd, votes 24:3: 0
 - b. Matters arising None
- 3. The BSHM report for 2022. Statements by President, Treasurer, and Membership Secretary.
- 4. Election of Council for 2024. The present Council nominates the following:

President Chris Hollings Immediate Past President Sarah Hart Treasurer Simon Gardiner Secretary Jane Wess Membership Secretary Tony Mann **Communications Officer** Dorothy Leddy Meetings Coordinator **Brigitte Stenhouse Education Officer** Ciarán Mac an Bhaird

Elected (ordinary) member of Council Máté Szabó
Elected (ordinary) member of Council Deborah Kent
Elected (ordinary) member of Council Clare Moriarty
Co-opted JMC Representative June Barrow-Green

Note 1) The following continue in their roles but will not be permanent members of Council

Web Admin Troy Astarte
Journal Editor Isobel Falconer

Any further nominations should be sent to the Honorary Secretary at the above address by 25th November 2023, copy to the President, Sarah Hart (president@bshm.ac.uk). They should contain the name and contact details of the person making the nomination, and the nominee's name, address, e-mail address, and telephone number along with a statement as to why the nominator thinks the nominee is suitable and a signed statement from the nominee confirming willingness to stand. The nomination should include the signatures of two BSHM members in support of the nomination. If further nominations are received, the names of candidates will be displayed on the BSHM website after 25th November 2023.

- 5. **Appointment of Andrew Thurburn & Co.**, 38 Tamworth Road, Croydon, as the Society's accountants and independent examiners.
- 6. **Any other business** (please advise the Honorary Secretary, copy to the President, Sarah Hart (president@bshm.ac.uk) of any items by 25th November 2023)

Item: Approval of the updated BSHM Articles of Association

Note 2) The AGM this year will take place during the BSHM's Christmas Meeting. For more details, see https://www.bshm.ac.uk/events/christmas-meeting-agm-2023.

Fenny Smith, Honorary Secretary, 6 th November 2023