

From the Honorary Secretary:
Fenny Smith
24 Sandringham Close
Ross-on-Wye
Herefordshire
HR9 7XN
secretary@bshm.ac.uk

# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the BSHM held at Birkbeck College, London at 1.30 pm on Wednesday 24<sup>th</sup> October 2018

The meeting opened at 1.30 pm with the President, Mark McCartney, in the Chair. There were 22 members of the Society present.

### 1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Philip Beeley (Jury Service), Robert Burn, Mary Croarken, Ciarán Mac an Bhaird, Terence Mills, Lukas M. Verburgt, David Wilkinson, Christopher Hollings, Martin Perkins, Robin Wilson, Jenny Ramsden, Judith Furner, Brigitte Stenhouse.

Before proceeding, the President had the poignant task of announcing the names of those members who had sadly died in the last year. Members stood in respect.

- 2. <u>Minutes of the AGM held on Wednesday 25<sup>th</sup> October 2017</u>
  - a) Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved.

b) Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

3. Officers' Reports and Accounts

These refer to the timeframe Jan 1<sup>st</sup> to Dec 31<sup>st</sup> 2017 and are collated under the BSHM Company Annual Report, filed with Companies House.

a) The Officers outlined their reports as in the above document. There was applause for Jane Wess, retiring as Meetings Coordinator, and a plea from the Membership Secretary for members to make sure they consent under the terms of GDPR. The Treasurer described a healthy financial state. There were no questions on the report, and it was accepted **nem. con.** 

#### 5. Election of Council for 2019

The names of the nominated Council for 2019 together with their biographies had been circulated to all members. No BSHM member had subsequently asked for anyone else to be nominated. They were as follows:

President Mark McCartney Treasurer Klaas Sijbrandij Fenny Smith Secretary Membership Secretary . Ken Lord New Members' Secretary Dorothy Leddy Communications Officer Dorothy Leddy Isobel Falconer Meetings Coordinator . **Education Officer** Snezana Lawrence Publicity and Webmaster Troy Astarte

Elected (ordinary) member of Council Christopher Hollings
Co-opted JMC Representative . June Barrow-Green
Bulletin Editor . . . Benjamin Wardhaugh

Note 1) Benjamin Wardhaugh was appointed as Bulletin Editor but not a permanent member of Council.

The motion that the **nominated Council be adopted**, except for the one ordinary member of Council (see below), was proposed by Terry Froggatt and seconded by Roger Mallion. The motion was passed **nem. con.** 

6. <u>Appointment of Andrew Thurburn & Co., 38 Tamworth Road, Croydon, as the Society's accountants and independent examiner</u>

The motion that **Andrew Thurburn & Co be re-appointed as the Society's accountants and independent examiner** was proposed by Nigel White and seconded by Sarah Hart. The motion was passed with the one conventional abstention of the Treasurer.

#### 7. Special Resolution

This was a change to our articles of association, specifically to extend the limit for council membership. There was one member who protested that they hadn't seen this, but everyone else noted that it had been available with the AGM calling papers. The motion was proposed by Terry Froggatt, seconded by June Barrow-Green, and passed by the membership, and Christopher Hollings could now be proposed as a member of Council for another year. Fenny Smith proposed, AEL Davis seconded, and Christopher Hollings was elected.

## 8. Any other business

Items occurring were:

a).AEL Davis noted that her Philippa Fawcett Collection was now in the library of the London Mathematical Society. This valuable Collection is a wide-ranging library of books written by and about women who studied or worked in mathematical subjects in the nineteenth and first part of the twentieth century, or earlier. There was also an article in the Bulletin about it.

- b) Jane Wess acknowledged all the help she'd had over the years in her role as Meetings Coordinator.
- c) It was reported that Peter Neumann was still in a nursing home. It was decided to send him the Society's best wishes, and a card was subsequently despatched.
- d) AEL Davis mentioned that the Hanna Neumann building housing the mathematics department in the Australian National University was the only building named after a female Professor of Mathematics (it was named in her honour in 1973).
- 7. The meeting closed at 2.10 pm.

Fenny Smith, Hon. Secretary 25/10/2019