Neumann Prize

Neumann Prize


The Neumann prize was established in honour of Peter Neumann, a longstanding supporter of and contributor to the BSHM. The prize is awarded for a book in English (including books in translation) dealing with the history of mathematics and aimed at a broad audience.

There is no further restriction on subject matter, nor on the nationality of the author or the country of publication. The prize of £600 is awarded every two years.

The winner of the 2015 Neumann Prize is Sydney Padua  for her book The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage.  Her prize will be presented at the Research in Progess meeting on Saturday 27th February 2016.

Previous winners

2013:  Jacqueline Stedall. The history of mathematics: A very short introduction

2011: Clifford A. Pickover, The Math Book

2009: Reviel Netz and William Noel, The Archimedes Codex