Neumann Prize

Neumann Prize

The Neumann Prize is awarded biennially for a book in English (including books in translation) dealing with the history of mathematics and aimed at a non-specialist readership.  There is no further restriction on the subject matter, nor on the nationality of the author or the country of publication, however edited collections will not be considered.

The prize is named in honour of the late Peter M. Neumann O.B.E., a former President and longstanding contributor to the Society.  The value of the prize is £1000.  A list of past prize-winners can be found below.

Please note that the following will not be considered:

  • Edited volumes
  • Second and subsequent editions, unless they are very substantially different from the earlier editions
  • Books by members of BSHM Council in the year of the award, or by the editor of the BJHM


Previous winners

2019: Martin Beech. Going Underground

2017: Jimmy Soni & Rob Goodman.  A Mind at Play 

2015: Sydney Padua, The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage

2013:  Jacqueline Stedall. The history of mathematics: A very short introduction

2011: Clifford A. Pickover, The Math Book

2009: Reviel Netz and William Noel, The Archimedes Codex