Taylor and Francis early career research prize

Taylor and Francis early career research prize

Every three years, the BSHM awards the Taylor and Francis Early Career Research Prize.

The prize is for the best paper by an early career researcher published in the society’s journal, the British Journal for the History of Mathematics.

The winner will be invited to blog on the history of mathematics for the society.

2022–2024 Prize

The next prize will be awarded for papers published in the BJHM during 2022, 2023 and 2024.

In the context of the prize an early career researcher is defined to be a person at an early stage in their history of mathematics career; this would normally be a current doctoral student or someone within five years of a relevant PhD (taking account of any career breaks).

Authors submitting articles to the Society’s journal during the years 2022–2024 will be asked to state whether they wish to be considered for the award.

Previous winners 

Note: until 2022 the prize was awarded every 2 years.

  • 2020–2021 Sepideh Alassi (at time of winning, postdoctoral research associate at the Digital Humanities Lab at the University of Basel. She earned her PhD in 2020 in Digital Humanities).
  • 2018–2019 Ellen Abrams (at time of winning, a PhD candidate in the Department of Science and Technology Studies (STS) at Cornell University).